CBC hockey team dominates in Mid-States final

Sid Hastings

When the horn sounded to end the game, the players mobbed their goalie and later skated around the Scottrade Center ice, hoisting the championship trophy.

The Christian Brothers College High School hockey team completed a dominate season with a 6-0 win March 3 over De Smet Jesuit High School. It was the Cadet's 13th win of the Mid-States Club Hockey Association Challenge Cup.

CBC coach John Jost said his team's defense played well, "and the puck started going in. We beat a good hockey team." 

CBC, 40-1-1, had to work hard all year, learning from last year's defeat in the championship game, Jost said. "The leaders ... led the young guys, showed them the ropes on how to play the game the right way, and it really paid off."

CBC captain Joey Lupo, one of 10 seniors on the team, was named the game's Most Valuable Player. He cited CBC's early and continued pressure as a key to the game. "All four lines, every defenseman, everyone was playing hard out there, battling for pucks," said Lupo, who plays center.

He praised his opponent. "They put up a fight. It was a lot of fun. They didn't go to the cheap stuff near the end, they kept it classy," Lupo said.

De Smet coach John Mattingly said his team didn't rebound from the early start by CBC. "You give those guys a lead and it's going to be a rough game."

His goalie had no chance on the goals, Mattingly said. "There's no question we got beat by a better hockey team tonight. There's not much you can do when you're swarmed in. We played a little panic hockey in the defensive zone."

De Smet's seniors went from a season with three victories in 2010-11, to a 23-4-2 record this year. "It's a tremendous turnaround. We're just proud to be here. Everybody contributed all season. ... I'm real proud of our boys," Mattingly said.

Just 44 seconds into the game Glenn Ryan scored on a pass from behind the net from Andy McGlynn who had hustled after the puck.

Despite the early goal, De Smet players at first were able to bring the puck into their opponent's zone, though they misfired on most of their shot attempts. By the time the period was half over, CBC had five official shots to De Smet's one.

CBC scored a second time on a play similar to the first. Austin Rueschhoff was parked in front of the net when he took a pass from the corner by Mike Beckham. The third goal of the period was scored from the point by defenseman Ben Jones after team captain Joey Lupo dug the puck out of the corner and made a pass.

The second period began with De Smet goalie Aaron Brickman making a number of stellar saves. De Smet had a power play when one of its players was pulled down after a breakaway. But De Smet took a hooking penalty soon afterward to negate the power play. Again, Brickman made a handful of saves on nearly rapid-fire shots. Toward the end of the period, Brickman snagged a shot by Adam Caruso on a breakaway. But soon afterward, Rueschhoff scored his second goal of the night for CBC on a pass from Lupo to make it 4-0.

Ryan scored CBC's fifth goal and Lupo had the sixth. Joe Staely was strong in the net for CBC in the shutout.

Both teams came into the game with 7-0 records in this year's Challenge Cup competition. CBC was seeded first, its 14th consecutive year in the finals, and De Smet second. CBC defeated Lindbergh 7-0 and 8-0 and De Smet defeated Chaminade 2-1 and again 2-1 in the semifinal series, with Trent Frederic scoring both goals in the clincher. Last year's champion, St. Louis University High School, split with Lindbergh before Lindbergh advanced with a 1-0 win in a mini-game. St. John Vianney High School lost in the first round. In the Wickenheiser Cup, Duchesne High School was the only Catholic school represented, also losing in the first round. 

Your rating: None Average: 5 (2 votes)