Bishop Hermann ordains 11 as permanent deacons

Rebecca Venegoni Tower

Bishop Robert Hermann ordained 11 men to the Order of the Permanent Diaconate at 10 a.m. Saturday, June 6, at the Cathedral Basilica of St. Louis, Lindell Boulevard and Newstead Avenue in the Central West End.

This is the 29th class of permanent deacons in the Archdiocese of St. Louis, which began the program in 1975.

The men are: Rev. Mr. Dennis Barbero, Rev. Mr. Paul Bast, Rev. Mr. Lawrence Clark, Rev. Mr. David Felber, Rev. Mr. Dale Follen, Rev. Mr. Fred Haehnel, Rev. Mr. John Marino, Rev. Mr. Thomas Mulvihill Jr., Rev. Mr. Terrence Pimmel, Rev. Mr. Richard Quistorff and Rev. Mr. Daniel Skillman.

Permanent deacons are ordained clergy who serve in various ministries. Among the deacon’s ministries are serving during the Mass, including proclaiming the Gospel and at times preaching; being an ordinary minister of Communion; officiating at baptisms; witnessing marriages; and presiding at wakes and funerals.

Permanent deacons also minister in hospitals, Church agencies and other related areas.

A subscription is required to access this content.

Current online and print subscribers, click here to login and view this article.

Please click here to subscribe to the St. Louis Review. You may subscribe to the online edition only or both the online and print editions.

If you already have a subscription and are still unable to access this information, please contact the St. Louis Review.

Why does the St. Louis Review require a subscription to access content online? (Click to view).

Your rating: None Average: 5 (1 vote)